About Chairman

Dr. H.P. Singh, Chairman, Confederation of Horticulture Associations of India, New Delhi and an Independent Director, Jain Irrigation Systems Limited, Jalgaon earned his post graduation with Gold Medal from RAU, Pusa; Ph.D. with certificate of merit, UAS, Bangalore, and Post Doctorate, D.Sc. (Honoris causa) OUAT, Bhubaneswar. With rare combination of scientific excellence, conscientious administration, dynamic management skills and academic depth, Dr. Singh has outstandingly contributed to research, education and development of horticulture and agriculture. His vision, commitment and dynamic leadership has provided a new dimension to management in agriculture. Visionary approach of Dr. Singh, with zeal and commitment for achieving excellence and exemplary skills of management has brought dynamisms to the positions which ever, wherever, as Deputy Director General (Hort.), ICAR; Vice-Chancellor, RAU, Pusa, Bihar; Dean, College of Agriculture, GBPUA&T, Pantnagar; Horticulture Commissioner, Ministry of Agriculture; Chairman, Coconut Development Board, Cochin; Director, National Research Centre on Banana, Trichy; Project Coordinator (Fruits), IIHR, Bangalore; he held, leading to optimization of output, outcome and delivery. He also served as chairman, APCC, Jakarta and has been the committee member in many international organizations. He has developed many cultivars and technologies which has shaped the horticulture. He has authored and edited 61 books, 35 bulletins and 250 research papers. Dr Singh is the architect of Mission mode approach for horticultural development, starting from planning to execution. He is prime mover for horticulture/ agriculture research and development in India and is an architect of Golden Revolution. His exceptionally outstanding contribution has earned him three international, thirty five national awards and nine fellowships including the Fellow of NAAS. He also received HMan of the Decade’ award for exceptionally outstanding services rendered to horticultural/ agricultural farmers.